Friday Fictioneers – All Systems Go!

Every Friday, authors from around the world gather here to share their 100-words and offer constructive criticism and encouragement to each other. This creates a wonderful opportunity for free reading of very fresh fiction! Readers are encouraged to comment as well.  The prompt is from Marie Gail Stratford  For details, check out Rochelle Wisoff-Fields http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/09/10/12-september-2014/

Slapped together with much haste and little grace, I give you ALL SYSTEMS GO:

Glass Star Drive

“Gimme another.” Bob slurs.

“Give it up, captain.” Joe says, resigned.

“The engine needs fuel.” Bob glowers, his eyes pickled in red-rimmed sockets. “Jesh one more.”

“You still owe for last night…if we survive that is.”

“It’s almost calibrated.” Bob squints blearily. “Give me a blue one.”

Sighing, Joe twists open a Blue Moon and hands it over.

At the brightly-colored wall of empties, Bob studies the pattern. Draining his beer, Bob then shoves the last bottle in.

The sub-light engines whine as they come alive.

“I’ll be damned.” Handing Bob another beer, Joe adds, “This one’s on the house!”

14 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – All Systems Go!

    1. Thank you. I wasn’t sure myself. Whenever I boil a story down to 100 words, I remember all the great lines I had to take out and the text ends up seeming naked to me. But, I remind myself, ‘less is more, less is more’.

      Like

  1. This is what happens to writing when you wait until 12:00 a.m. to dash something off for the Friday Fictioneers. I had a hard time with squeezing this one down to 100. Sigh. But thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

